Vaudreuil-Dorion is conveniently located at the intersections of highways 20, 30 and 40 making it the commercial hub of the area with most of the larger brand name stores having outlet stores in the area. It is a rapidly growing area with a population that has double in size over the last 15 years to more than 38,000. The growth has been well planned to ensure that there are an abundance of parks, sports fields, arenas, and other amenities. In 2016, the Minister of Health and Social Services officially announced the location of the future Vaudreuil-Soulanges hospital, which will break ground in 2018.

There are many cultural attractions in the city such as The Musée régional de Vaudreuil-Soulanges which is located in an old schoolhouse completed in 1859 and Maison Trestler, an old fur-trading post dating back to 1798.

There are many events and festivals in the area as well, such as; a Mozaik parade, circus festival, historical Seigneuriales event and O Tour Felix.

Vaudreuil-Dorion has an abundance of sports facilities, a skate park, beach volleyball areas, artificial-turf football field and the regions largest sports center. Vaudreuil-Dorion borders the Lake of Two Mountains and Lac St Francis of the St Lawrence River. There are some beautiful waterfront parks to allow residents access to water and ice sports. Windsurfers and parasailers can be often seen flying across the water and ice!

The area has 9 elementary schools, 7 French speaking, one Trilingual and one English school. There is also a very large French high school and an adult education school.

Being situated between 3 highways allows for easy access for commuters. There are also two train stations, an express bus to the metro and a specialized paratransit service. There is also a local bus system RTM which provides transportation for Vaudreuil-Dorion, L’Île-Perrot, Notre-Dame- de-l’Île- Perrot, Pincourt, Rigaud, Saint-Lazare, and Hudson.

When visitors drive along rue St Charles near the water they will see words "Je suis..." (I am..), written in huge, bold letters, sitting on a stone foundation in the Parc de la Maison-Valois. The statue is part of a project that started in 2010 to promote dialogue and respect for differences through active citizen participation in creativity, culture and the reinvention of the community. Citizens can come together, interact and get to know one another, giving a sense of belonging to the community no matter what their background.

Useful links

Vaudreuil-Dorion est idéalement située aux intersections des autoroutes 20, 30 et 40, ce qui en fait le centre commercial de la région, avec la plupart des grands magasins de marque ayant des boutiques griffées dans la région. C'est une région en croissance rapide avec une population qui a doublé au cours des 15 dernières années à plus de 38 000. La croissance a été bien planifiée afin d’assurer l'abondance des parcs, terrains sportifs, arénas et autres commodités. En 2016, le ministre de la Santé et des Services Sociaux a officiellement annoncé l'implantation du futur hôpital de Vaudreuil-Soulanges, dont la construction débutera en 2018.

Il y a beaucoup d'attractions culturelles dans la ville comme le Musée régional de Vaudreuil-Soulanges qui se trouve dans une vieille école achevée en 1859 et la Maison Trestler, un ancien poste de traite des fourrures datant de 1798.

Il y a aussi beaucoup d'événements et de festivals dans la région, tels que; un défilé de Mozaik, festival de cirque, événement historique des Seigneuriales et O Tour Félix.

Vaudreuil-Dorion possède de nombreuses installations sportives, un skate parc, des terrains de volleyball de plage, un terrain de football artificiel et le plus grand centre sportif de la région. Vaudreuil-Dorion borde le lac des Deux-Montagnes et le lac Saint-François du Saint-Laurent. Il y a de beaux parcs riverains pour permettre aux résidents d'accéder à l'eau et aux sports de glace. Les planchistes et les parachutiste ascensionnels peuvent souvent être observés volant sur l'eau et la glace!

La région compte 9 écoles élémentaires, 7 écoles francophones, une école trilingue et une école anglaise. Il y a aussi une très grande école secondaire francophone ainsi qu’une école d'éducation aux adultes.

Étant située entre 3 autoroutes ça permet un accès facile pour les résidents qui se déplacent en automobile. Il y a aussi deux gares, un autobus express jusqu’au métro et un service de transport adapté spécialisé. Il y a aussi un système d'autobus local RTM qui assure le transport pour Vaudreuil-Dorion, L'Île-Perrot, Notre-Dame-de-l'Île-Perrot, Pincourt, Rigaud, Saint-Lazareet Hudson.

Lorsque les visiteurs conduisent le long du boulevard St Charles près de l'eau, ils verront les mots «Je suis ...», écrits en lettres énormes et audacieuses, assis sur une fondation en pierre dans le parc de la Maison-Valois. La statue fait partie d'un projet qui a débuté en 2010 pour promouvoir le dialogue et le respect des différences à travers la participation active des citoyens à la créativité, la culture et la réinvention de la communauté. Les citoyens peuvent se réunir, interagir et apprendre à se connaître les uns les autres, ce qui donne un sentiment d'appartenance à la communauté, peu importe leur origine.

Liens Utils