Hudson is an older community which amalgamated with the former municipalities of Como, and Hudson Heights. Its heritage can be traced back to the early 18th century. There are stories of the Mohawk’s hiding out at Quarry Point to attack the pioneers on their way up the Ottawa River. One of the first residence of Hudson in 1732 was Jean-Baptiste Sabourin. He married the young Sarah Hanson who had been kidnapped by Oka Mohawks from her home near Boston. The kitchen where Sarah cooked has been incorporated into Greenwood, one of the area’s oldest homes, is now open to the public. The Sabourin descendants still live in the area as do the Davidsons, Robinsons, Hodgsons and the Séguins. Hudsonites believe in preserving their rich heritage, not just in the beautiful old buildings found along Main Road, but in their hearts and memories. The Hudson Historical Society was formed in the mid 1960’s to help preserve historical facts and features of Hudson, St. Lazare and many of the surrounding towns.

Hudson boosts one of the oldest operating ferries in Quebec. The Como ferry connects Hudson to the town of Oka. During the winter months you can even drive across the lake on the ice road!

Golfing is a major sport in the area. Presently there are two private clubs, Como Golf Course with 9 holes and the Whitlock Golf and Country Club with an 18 & 9-hole course and curling rinks. There is also the Falcon Golf Course a public 18-hole course, designer by Graham Cook. Hudson has a Legion Hall and Curling Rink, a great place for Thirsty Thursdays crowd!

The Royal Oak Tennis Club, the oldest continuous running tennis club in Canada is located in Como and has four lighted clay courts plus 2 hard courts. The club has a fantastic Junior Development Program and a resident pro and even has an annual Croquet Tournament.

 Being situated on the Lake of Two Mountains ensures that much of summer life revolves around the water. The Hudson Yacht Club started out as a country club at the turn of the 20th century but now has become a major social center. The social life at the HYC is pretty well non-stop. Whether it’s the Friday night B-B- Qs, or the Sunday Family Brunches there is always something happening at the Yacht Club! Of course there is also sailing and swimming lessons too!

The town also has a Community Swimming Pool, which offers everything from Tiny Tot lessons to Water Polo! Hudson Sandy Beach and Jack Layton Park are public access points to the lake for all to enjoy.

The Village Theatre, is located in the historical Hudson Railway Station. There are plays running throughout the year and movies monthly. The theatre draws crowds from all over Quebec and Ontario.

Finnegans Antique Market is the place to be every Saturdays throughout the summer. There you’ll find everything from antiques to award winning honey and just about the best hamburgers around!

Le Nichoir’, is the largest rehabilitation centre for songbirds in Canada. The centre is run by volunteers and provides proper care and treatment for injured or orphaned wild birds and releases them back into their natural habitat.

There are two elementary schools in Hudson, one French and one English. St Lazare and Hudson share the secondary level students between Westwood Junior and Senior High Schools. For French secondary school students are buses to Vaudreuil-Dorion just 15 minutes down the road.

The town gained notoriety in 1991 by becoming the first in Quebec, Canada to ban several forms of lawn and garden pesticides used to kill insects and weeds. The town was sued by two pesticide companies and on June 28, 2001, the Supreme Court of Canada ruled in the town's favor by a 9-0 vote. The Hudson example spurred many other municipalities and provinces in Canada to enact similar bans of pesticides.


Although many residents commute by automobile, a commuter train to Montreal (Vaudreuil-Hudson Line) stops in Hudson twice a day during the week. The town is also served by the 21 bus from the CIT La Presqu'Île, terminating at the Vaudreuil train station.

Useful links

Hudson est une communauté plus ancienne qui a fusionné avec les anciennes municipalités de Como et Hudson Heights. Son héritage remonte au début du 18ème siècle. On raconte que des Mohawks se sont cachés à Quarry Point pour attaquer les pionniers qui remontaient la rivière des Outaouais. Jean-Baptiste Sabourin fut l'un des premiers résidents d'Hudson en 1732. Il a épousé la jeune Sarah Hanson qui avait été kidnappée par les Mohawks d’Oka, de sa maison près de Boston. La cuisine où Sarah préparait les repas a été incorporée à Greenwood, l'une des plus anciennes maisons de la région, et maintenant ouverte au public. Les descendants de Sabourin vivent encore dans la région, tout comme les Davidsons, les Robinsons, les Hodgsons et les Séguins. Les Hudsonois croient en la préservation de leur riche patrimoine, pas seulement dans les beaux bâtiments anciens qui se trouvent le long de la route principale, mais dans leurs coeurs et leurs souvenirs. La Société Historique de Hudson a été créée au milieu des années 1960 pour aider à préserver les faits historiques et les caractéristiques de Hudson, St. Lazare et de nombreuses villes environnantes.

Hudson possède l'un des plus anciens traversiers en activité au Québec. Le ferry de Como relie Hudson à la ville d'Oka. Pendant les mois d'hiver, vous pouvez même traverser le lac sur la route de glace!

Le golf est un sport majeur dans la région. Présentement, il y a deux clubs privés, le Club de Golf Como avec 9 trous et le Club de Golf Whitlock avec un parcours de 18 et 9 trous et des pistes de curling. Il y a aussi le Falcon Golf Course, un parcours public de 18 trous, conçu par Graham Cook. Hudson a son hall de la Légion Royale Canadienne et Pistes de Curling, un endroit idéal pour la foule assoiffée des jeudis!

Le Club de Tennis Royal Oak, le plus ancien club de tennis en continu au Canada, est situé à Como et dispose de quatre terrains éclairés en terre battue et de deux terrains à surface dure. Le club a un programme fantastique de développement junior et un professionnel résident et tient même un tournoi annuel de croquet.

Être située sur le lac des Deux Montagnes assure qu'une grande partie de la vie estivale gravite autour de l'eau. Le Hudson Yacht Club a débuté comme un country club au début du 20ème siècle mais est devenu un important centre social. La vie sociale au HYC est sans arrêt. Que ce soit le Barbecue du vendredi soir ou le Brunch en Famille du dimanche, il se passe toujours quelque chose au Yacht Club! Bien sûr, il y a aussi des leçons de voile et de natation!

La ville possède également une piscine communautaire, qui offre tout, des leçons de nage aux tous petits au Water Polo! Sandy Beach et le Parc Jack Layton sont des points d'accès publics au lac pour que tous puissent en profiter.

Le théâtre du village est situé dans la gare historique de Hudson. Il y a des pièces de théâtre tout au long de l'année et des films tous les mois. Le théâtre attire des foules de partout au Québec et en Ontario.

Le Marché d’Antiquités Finnegan est l'endroit où se trouver tous les samedis tout au long de l'été. Vous y trouverez de tout, des antiquités au miel primé en passant par les meilleurs hamburgers du coin!

Le Nichoir est le plus grand centre de réadaptation pour les oiseaux chanteurs au Canada. Le centre est géré par des bénévoles et fournit des soins et des traitements appropriés aux oiseaux sauvages blessés ou orphelins et les relâche dans leur habitat naturel.

Il y a deux écoles élémentaires à Hudson, une francophone et une anglophone. St Lazare et Hudson partagent les élèves du secondaire entre les écoles juniors et seniors de Westwood. Pour les élèves de l'école secondaire francophone, les autobus desservent Vaudreuil-Dorion à seulement 15 minutes de route.

La ville a gagné en notoriété en 1991 en devenant la première au Québec, au Canada, à interdire plusieurs formes de pesticides pour la pelouse et le jardin utilisés pour tuer les insectes et les mauvaises herbes. La ville a été poursuivie par deux compagnies de pesticides et le 28 juin 2001, la décision de la Cour suprême du Canada a été en faveur de la ville par un vote de 9-0. L'exemple de Hudson a incité de nombreuses autres municipalités et provinces du Canada à adopter des interdictions similaires.

Bien que de nombreux résidents se déplacent en automobile, un train de banlieue à destination de Montréal (ligne Vaudreuil-Hudson) s'arrête à Hudson deux fois par jour pendant la semaine. La ville est également desservie par l’autobus 21 de la CIT La Presqu'Île, se terminant à la gare de Vaudreuil.

Liens Utiles